yesterday’s run…. posted today

I wish that I could grab some of the sensation that sometimes happens about three quarters of the way into a very tiny few of my better runs…. it is a state of euphoria, the “Oh be Joyfuls” that words don’t really do justice… Yesterday was one of those runs. Nothing extraordinary about the distance…. less than 20 kms, a particularly beautiful trail… the company of my dog, the sound of loons, the smell of fetid forest floor mingled with warm damp pine, the sensation of forcing your body up a hill to the point when your breath is not quite enough…. and your muscles have a sort warmth from the effort. Shoes full of mud and water, deer flies attacking the back of your head, legs scratched and bleeding from the wild raspberry canes…. all these sensations at once.. a massive sensory overload! I love it!!

I will be going back to St. Adolphe d’Howard and all this for a measly $5 …… they keep these trails beautifully, the skiing must be mind blowing. I should drag some of my mucky running friends along next time….Gomez on Vacation

Leave a Reply

