Mont-Royal in the Snow… makes you feel truly hard core

Wow what an amazing weekend of running in fresh powder! There is absolutely nothing like it… well maybe that soft sandy beach at sunrise in Mazanillo, Mexico. I had a bit of a wimpy running week in that I went to the gym once for the intervals thing and watched an episode of “Dead like Me” from the comfort of the eliptical trainer…. and that was it! Well I made up for it with about 18 mile yesterday and about 12.5 today, all on the trails in deep snow which adds about 30% effort to the workout… IMHO anyway. If I was smart I would have dug out my gaiters that I used to use when I was into cross-country skiing, but that would be too smart. And anyway I sort of like the look on people’s faces as you appear from a gap in the bushes on to the regular trail covered in snow from the waist down. They sort of cringe and look at me as if I’m demented.

And today I actually remembered to take the camera… and then the batteries…. but here’s a few photos…..
p1010002.JPG

p1010007.JPG

  p1010008.JPG

 p1010010.JPG

on a totally different note, I was chatting with my Dad this morning about the fact that I’ve sent the application for the VT100…. and he very nonchalantly says, “oh, I did one of them once, …..on a bike of course” so it comes to pass that as a young man he rode in a 100 mile road race… and did pretty well at that! “four hours & fifty something minutes” he claims! and I would be inclined to believe the God-fearing retired bank manager. I had to ask how old he was at the time… a mere 18 or 19! Now if he’s 77 now… born in 1931, one has to wonder what the bikes were like in 1949 post war London. Pretty basic & probably just a little heavier than today. So maybe I got my Dad’s legs !! shame I didn’t get his brains

4 responses to “Mont-Royal in the Snow… makes you feel truly hard core

  1. Looking at all that snow and thinking of running through it makes me feel … very, very … tired … zzzz …

  2. beautiful pics, thanks for sharing, you should take more often.

  3. Awesome pictures! What a great idea to bring a camera along. You really know how to make things fun 🙂

  4. ….. and it’s albout the fun!

Leave a Reply

