Oromocto sucks……

It's raining in New Brunswick and hotel's pool/hot-tub is out of order due to an excess of chlorine. Oromocto sucks…. well at least this little bit of it does.

But the good new is… I went for a pretty good 2,5hr run yesterday and everything seems to be OK today, well apart from the ache that comes after a few weeks of doing not much of anything. It's a good ache.

stream.jpg longlakeaerial.jpg

I haven't been very good at finding the time to blog much… but i did make a few notes here and there along the way over the past week or so… it went like this [again upside down…

last wednesday

well I'll try and make use of this little bit of time as I wait for my 9:30 appointment to choose his office colours. pet peeve: people that don't respect other folk's time. Ho Humm.
Well I got pretty bad case of the glums today, following a disappointing setback with my running. Sunday's run resulted in slightly achy legs but nothing out of the ordinaire…. rested on Monday and decided to do a short recovery run last night after dinner. Again I aborted the workout with what was a more specific pain on the front of my shin… 8/10 enough to stop me and send me to the freezer for an ice pack. Yesterday morning everything felt fine with no residue from Sunday's run. I am beginning to fear the worst.
Fast forward to Sunday evening and here I am waiting for a plane, again. It's mother's day. It was also one of those non-custodial weekends of catching up on our sleep and tidying up a few outstanding work stuff. The sleep felt good, nine hours two nights in a row…. unheard of, although I confess I was awake both mornings at five.
Today I didn't run. Didn't train in any way nor did I do any of the exercises the PT prescribed on Thursday. Julie, the therapist is very sweet but really doesn't have an idea what might be my problem and is stumped for a solution. Stretch & strengthen seems to be the universal cure. We booked an appointment with the Dr. who will probably want an x-ray or maybe even an MRI …. I can't wait.
Julie maintains my legs aren't strong enough for what I'm doing' particularly the calves and hamstrings…. couldn't help but feel a little insulted. I mean she was proud to tell me of her one half marathon finish in 2:xx …… I guess she knows best, however she has referred me to another PT who specializes in track & field…. we will get to the bottom of this. So Friday got a large dose of Swiss ball abs & toe lifts…. to the point where the muscles stared to ache. No running. Saturday, repeated the exercises with 45 minutes of elliptical torture with similar results.
I really don't have any pain until I start running, which I haven't tested since last Tuesday…. it really feels like everything is just fine until I start to run and every time I've set out to test it, it's been more or less ok on the first workout, it's the following session that hurts. I have brought the shoes with me for this trip and will probably repeat the test again….. This time I'll start with a recovery type run for about half an hour and then try again the next day…. I can share my results with the Dr. on Thursday. maybe I'll have nothing to talk about, 'cause right at the moment everything feels great. I think I still have time to get ready for Jay and Haliburton may a little compromised but at this point I still think it's highly do-able.
sunday evening Where am I off to? Halifax and then New Brunswick on Tuesday back to yul on Wednesday.
On another note…. Grommit has been jonesing for a canine companion since his ex. made him choose between his golden retriever or her. He choose the human….. and ended up with neither. So we got talking to our neighbours over the road who are about to replace their Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier with a Portuguese Water Dog which just happens to be the breed that I'm interested in. Anyway they introduced us to the owner of "Harry Higgins" who we will get to meet soon and then hopefully the breeder will accept us as a suitable family for one of their puppies…. I'm excited about this, I've always loved dogs and I miss Charlotte, my retriever who died of old age earlier this year, she was 14.
Fast forward to Monday evening. My day finished at about five so as it was sch a beautiful day I just couldn't resist it. Although my legs felt fine I had it in my head to run at the most about 40 minutes. Yeah right. I had noticed on my last couple of trips up here, a spot close to the highway not to far from my hotel where there are always a hanful of cars parked at what looked like the entrance to some hiking trails and the sign said Long lake provincial park… How could I not go take a peek. So the jog there took about 50 minutes and about 100 metres into the park I was in front of a totally beautiful lake. The path around the lake was uneven, strewn with rocks, roots coming ot of everywhere…. total Heaven. I ran for about another hour in the park and then decided to head back to the hotel as my legs were beginning to feel just a tad beaten up. I couldn't think of a good reason not to do the brisk walk thing for the last 20 minutes so I did, with the odd spurt of running thrown in. How much pain? not much really. The shin ached a little 3/10 for the first half an hour but then it faded with the odd little twinge from time to time. More noticably, my legs sort of ached like running for a couple of hours was all new. Found myself sort of smiling as this thought passed as I run through the woods all alone. Felt much more like me.
And now dinner. We'll see how it all feels in the am

3 responses to “Oromocto sucks……

  1. hey you, what is Oromoncto ?? Micmac ?? What does it mean if anything ?

    good to see you up and running & writing. Change physio. Get the dog, good breed, I luv dogs..munchkin and I would like one too, a smaller breed…no, no. nothing that you can step on by accident.

  2. Good to see you out running. I hope whatever you had/have hurting you heals fast. We gots some long muddy, rooty, hilly night time trail running to do.. I should be back up for nice trail run after Ottawa. Of course that after some well deserved rest. Roly

  3. Have you ever thought about letting yourself recuperate a little and wait until the pain is just 0/10 or even 1/10?

Leave a Reply

